Mission Investors Exchange

Sharing ideas. Driving philanthropic impact.

Header Menu

User menu

Mission Investors Exchange 2014 National Conference: "Sparking Change"

May 13, 2014 to May 15, 2014
Events are shown with Pacific time zone. Please adjust to your local time.
Minneapolis Marriott City Center
30 South 7th Street Minneapolis, MN, 55402

Click here to view the program booklet. The conference participants will receive a hard copy of this booklet at the conference.

Spark! is our online conference community for the conference participants. You'll be able to see the conference schedule, build a personal schedule of sessions you plan to attend, see who else will be there, join conversations, and much more. Session Builders can upload workshop materials to share.
How to log in to Spark! ? If you haven’t signed in yet, look for an invitation from Mission Investors Exchange in your inbox (or look for Ryoko Nozawa at the conference if you can't find the invitation.) If you have signed in already, type the weblink (sparkingchange.org) into your web browser - it works on your mobile device, too!

Every two years, foundation leaders, asset owners and supporters of the field of mission investing come together at the national conference in order to learn and make connections that result in better and more mission investments.

Join your colleagues and peers at this year's event, May 13-15, in Minneapolis-St. Paul. We will feature high-energy facilitators and sessions for all levels of practitioners and all types of philanthropic asset owners and managers.

You will learn from colleagues, share experiences, and build your mission investing program through a variety of discussions, workshops, investment showcases, and offsite learning for advanced and emerging leaders in mission investing. Whether you have yet to make your first mission investment or are an experienced practitioner, this conference is for you!

Please click here to see important Disclaimer for Lightning Talks investment forum sessions at the conference.



*Registration is now closed. If you would like to be added to the member or non-member registration waiting list, please contact Shiho Fuyuki at sfuyuki@missioninvestors.org.

Most conference activities will be held at: 

Minneapolis Marriott City Center, 30 South 7th Street, Minneapolis, MN, 55402

To make your hotel reservation, please call the hotel directly at 612.349.4000 or visit the hotel website. To guarantee this special group rate of $159 plus tax per night plus applicable taxes, you must make your reservation no later than April 30, 2014. Please call the hotel at 612.349.4000 and identify yourself as a Mission Investors Exchange conference attendee.

Thank you to our Conference Sponsors for their support:

Presenting Sponsors
The David and Lucile Packard Foundation
The John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation
Margaret A. Cargill Foundation
Northwest Area Foundation

Platinum Sponsor
The McKnight Foundation

Gold Sponsors
California HealthCare Foundation
HRK Foundation
Meyer Memorial Trust
Mission Throttle

Silver Sponsors
The Betsy and Jesse Fink Foundation
Carl & Eloise Pohlad Family Foundation
Community Capital Management, Inc.
Deutsche Bank
Rasmuson Foundation

Bronze Sponsors
Clif Bar Family Foundation
The Minneapolis Foundation
National Development Council
Philanthropy Northwest
Prize Capital
The Saint Paul Foundation

Community Sponsors
D'Amico Catering
Initiative Foundation
Mill City Museum
Northland Foundation
RBC Global Asset Management
Southwest Initiative Foundation

Thank you to our Conference Committee for their ongoing work to help us shape the conference:

  • Allison Clark, John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation
  • Kimberlee Cornett, The Kresge Foundation
  • Katheen Fluegel, HRK Foundation, Co-Chair, Chair of local host committee
  • Geeta Goel, Michael & Susan Dell Foundation
  • Karen Halazon, Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation
  • Lisa Hiller, Helen Bader Foundation, Inc.
  • Amy Jensen, Northwest Area Foundation
  • Sam Marks, Deutsche Bank, Co-Chair
  • Debra Moniz, Cedar Tree Foundation
  • Rodney Overcash, Margaret A. Cargill Philanthropies
  • Chris Perez, Rasmuson Foundation
  • Susan Phinney Silver, The David & Lucile Packard Foundation, Co-chair
  • David Wood, Initiative for Responsible Investment, Harvard University

Thank you to our local host commitee for their efforts to connect conference participants to the learning opportunities and culture of Minneapolis-St. Paul, Minnesota:

  • Kate Barr, Nonprofits Assistance Fund
  • Gary Cunningham, Northwest Area Foundation
  • Karen Florez, The Minneapolis Foundation
  • Kathleen Fluegel, HRK Foundation, Chair
  • Lori Miller-Shiell, Minnesota Council on Foundations
  • Scott Marquardt, Southwest Initiative Foundation
  • Christine Searson, The Saint Paul Foundation/Minnesota Philanthropy Partners
  • Cris Stainbrook, Indian Land Tenure Foundation
  • Linda Tacke, Carl & Eloise Pohlad Family Foundation

To view our 2012 conference program, please click here.

*This page is continually updated. Please check back for additional information.

Add to Calendar

Events are shown with Pacific time zone. Please adjust to your local time.